Raegan H., a senior Civil Engineering major, has been working as an office assistant in the Office of Study Abroad since the fall of her sophomore year. Here’s what she had to say about her work experience:

Emily H.What does a Study Abroad Office Assistant do?

Raegan H.: Helping the office run smoothly is the main goal of being an office assistant. This means taking care of paperwork, study abroad applications, student emails, scheduling appointments with advisors, and answering questions that students may come into the office with.

EH: What skills have you gained from this position?

RH: My experience at the Office of Study abroad allowed me to gain administrative skills and taught me how apply my people skills in a professional setting. Though there is a lot of filing and paperwork, there is an equal amount of interaction with people on a daily basis.
16864538_556184611255595_1712718996438652315_n
EH: How has your work in the Study Abroad office influenced your personal life?
RH: It’s given me a much greater appreciation for international culture than I had before. Though I personally didn’t get to go abroad, seeing the experiences others had taught me to be more adventurous and have more fun while at Hopkins. Yeah, everyone has the tough, major-fulfilling classes, but just because you have that doesn’t mean you don’t have time to explore new restaurants in Baltimore, or take a beer appreciation class on campus. There’s so much more here than just Brody and books!
EH: How has working shaped your Hopkins experience?
RH: It has allowed me to meet so many people, both students and professionals, that I never would have met otherwise. It also taught me the value of time-management beyond  juggling classes.
EH: What advice do you have for job-seeking students?
RH: Ask around to your friends! I never would have thought to apply to this job via the online employment services search if my friend hadn’t given me a heads-up that the office was hiring.
Great advice, Raegan! Be sure to talk to your friends who hold campus jobs about their experiences and check the SES Job Search Database regularly to see who’s hiring at Hopkins.

Leave a Reply

